Bronze Awards

The Bronze Family program consists of Bronze Star, Bronze Medallion and Bronze Cross. This program is designed for swimmers who are looking to further enhance their lifesaving knowledge and skills for a variety of situations. Bronze classes prepare participants who are wishing to become Lifeguards for the National Lifeguard Award (NLA) and Aquatic Emergency Care.

Bronze Star

Bronze Star is designed to deliver high-performance training for skilled pre-teens. Bronze Star is a prerequisite for the Bronze Medallion award if participants want to take Bronze Medallion before they are 13 years old.

Bronze Medallion

Bronze Medallion teaches an understanding of the lifesaving principles embodied in the four components of water rescue education – judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness. Rescuers learn both tows and carries, and release methods in preparation for challenging rescues of increased risk. Lifesavers learn to respond to increasingly complex situations involving conscious and unconscious victims with an obstructed airway. Lifesavers develop stroke efficiency and endurance in a timed swim. Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite for the Bronze Cross Award. Completion of the Bronze Medallion award gives participants certification in CPR-A/AED.

Bronze Cross

Bronze Cross is designed for lifesavers that want the challenge of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross teaches the difference between lifesaving and lifeguarding, the principles of emergency procedures, and teamwork. Lifesavers learn how to rescue a spinalinjured victim and a pulseless victim. Bronze Cross is the prerequisite award for all Lifesaving Society advanced training programs in lifeguarding and leadership. Bronze Cross gives participants certification in CPR-C/AED.

Contact Maps Search

University of Saskatchewan